CiE 2006 - Computability in Europe 2006: Logical Approaches to Computational Barriers

Thu, 15/12/2005 (All day)
CiE 2006 is the second of a new conference series on Computability Theory and related topics which started in Amsterdam in 2005. CiE 2006 will focus on (but not be limited to) logical approaches to computational barriers:
- practical and feasible barriers, e.g., centred around the P vs. NP problem;
- computable barriers connected to models of computers and programming languages;
- hypercomputable barriers related to physical systems.

Tutorials will be given by:
Samuel R. Buss (San Diego)
Julia Kempe (Paris)

Invited Speakers include:
Jan Bergstra (Amsterdam)
Luca Cardelli (Microsoft Cambridge)
Jan Krajicek (Prague)
Elvira Mayordomo Camara (Zaragoza)
Istvan Nemeti (Budapest)
Helmut Schwichtenberg (Munich)
Andreas Weiermann (Utrecht)

The Programme Committee cordially invites all researchers (European and non-European) in the area of Computability Theory to submit their papers (in PDF-format, at most 10 pages) for presentation at CiE 2006.
We particularly invite papers that build bridges between different parts of the research community. Since women are underrepresented in mathematics and computer science, we emphatically encourage submissions by female authors.

The proceedings are intended to be published within Springer's LNCS series. Important dates are:

Submission Deadline: December 15th, 2005.
Notification of Authors: February 15th, 2006.
Deadline for Final Version: March 15th, 2006.

Programme Committee:
Samson Abramsky (Oxford)
Klaus Ambos-Spies (Heidelberg)
Arnold Beckmann (Swansea, co-chair)
Ulrich Berger (Swansea)
Olivier Bournez (Nancy)
Barry Cooper (Leeds)
Laura Crosilla (Firenze)
Costas Dimitracopoulos (Athens)
Abbas Edalat (London)
Fernando Ferreira (Lisbon)
Ricard Gavalda (Barcelona)
Giuseppe Longo (Paris)
Benedikt Loewe (Amsterdam)
Yuri Matiyasevich (St.Petersburg)
Dag Normann (Oslo)
Giovanni Sambin (Padova)
Uwe Schoening (Ulm)
Andrea Sorbi (Siena)
Ivan Soskov (Sofia)
Leen Torenvliet (Amsterdam)
John Tucker (Swansea, co-chair)
Peter van Emde Boas (Amsterdam)
Klaus Weihrauch (Hagen)

Confirmed sponsors:
British Logic Colloquium (BLC)
Kurt Goedel Society (KGS)
Welsh Development Agency (WDA)

For more information about the conference please check the CiE conference series and our web page